Posted in MAET: CEP 811

Make Me a Postcard–a Maker Movement Lesson Plan

Lesson planning within the Maker Movement is tricky. As educators, we like to have all the answers before we ask the question. We like to be able to give concrete steps to success for our students. We like to be able to hold up exemplars of prior work as a model of student creation. Lesson planning in the Maker Movement, however, asks us to ignore many of these tendencies, often to the benefit of our students.

In developing this lesson, I discovered that it is perfectly fine if I don’t know what the finished product will look like, or the exact steps my students will take to get there. In fact, it is better than I don’t. My lack of expertise in this area will allow students to work toward developing their own. While I can still serve as a facilitator and support my students through their learning goals, their work will not be dominated by expectations. Rather, students’ work will be driven by their own goals and personal learning styles.

The following is a lesson designed for my tenth grade American Literature students. The lesson comes toward the end of a “Wars and Conflicts” unit in which students will read one of four texts (student-choice driven) and will work toward representing the characters in their text through interactive postcards. To read the full lesson plan, as well as my rationale for including it in my curriculum, please click here.

I welcome any feedback or extension suggestions that you may have!

Leave a Reply

