Posted in MAET: CEP 810

All Tied up in Knots: Learning Arm-Knitting and Beyond!

Both of my grandmothers were master knitters. My mom and I always had matching knit sweaters or vests to wear with adorable buttons and bright colors, and she cried the day I finally grew out of them. Later, my mom learned to knit in her own right, and my dresser became full of handmade scarves and headbands. During the Superbowl, my mom and sister-in-law sit with their knitting and make incredible blankets and gifts. In short, I have always been surrounded by knitters, and while I have tried many times to learn, I have not yet succeeded. For this reason, I have decided to use online resources to finally learn to knit. I will begin by learning to make a relatively new internet DIY creation: the arm knit scarf. Hours on Pinterest and dozens of saved pins and videos have inspired me to try this innovative knitting technique which will hopefully serve as an introduction and gateway to traditional knitting.

The scarf that started it all! Photo and Information by Simply Maggie http://www.simplymaggie.com/how-to-arm-knit
The scarf that started it all!
Photo, creation and Information by Simply Maggie
http://www.simplymaggie.com/how-to-arm-knit

As a Pinterest addict, it is usually my first stop for a DIY project. After re-visiting my many saved pins on arm scarves (see link below!), I connected to a few videos and online tutorials on YouTube. There seems to be quite the authority out there which will be incredibly helpful in my (likely) moments of struggle.

While my long-term goal is to learn traditional knitting and to be able to knit a scarf, I will begin by learning to arm knit. I feel that this will allow my to learn gradually and practice the basic concepts of knitting before moving on to more advanced projects.

Resources

I am looking forward to the trip to the knit shop to pick out yarn!

Cover Photo: “Yarn” by Susbany, licensed Under CC0 Public Domain

2 thoughts on “All Tied up in Knots: Learning Arm-Knitting and Beyond!

  1. I’m also surrounded by knitters. I just don’t have the patience to do it. My mom taught me as a kid, so I cannot use it for my MAET networked learning project. I thought about it, but I have done it. This arm knitting looks pretty cool, though. I will share with my daughter. She might take it up herself. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

