Posted in Uncategorized

Working on my Workflow, part 2: The Solution

As I work to revise my workflow and limit my open loops, I have discovered that new technologies may be more beneficial to me than existing structures.Instead of relying on my sticky notes (both digital and the ones lining my desk), as mentioned in part 1, Evernote is a far better use of my collecting and productivity time.

Although Evernote takes some time to master, the time spent exploring the site and its accompanying apps is well worth it. With Evernote, I am able to create notebooks for each topic that I need to organize. I can stack those notebooks to create a binder (i.e., all of my school-related notebooks can be stacked separately from my personal notes), share notes or entire notebooks with colleagues (my favorite feature), and access notes across all of my devices. Another useful feature that I have discovered is the Google extension for Evernote. I can save a pdf version of an article/website to one of my Evernote notebooks. This is not only helpful for me as an educator, as I come across countless articles or instructional ideas and my bookmarks bar is filling up fast, but it will also be a useful tool for my students to collect and organize their research and information.

Evernote

I am still exploring all of the available features, but it is clear that Evernote is a beneficial way to collect information from my open loops, organize that information, share it with colleagues or students, and manage my time. The fact that I can access my lists from any device means that I am no longer tethered to my laptop in order to be productive. I am looking forward to seeing what else Evernote has to offer.

References

Allen, D. (2001). Getting things done: The art of stress-free productivity. New York: Penguin.

Cover Photo: “Sticky Notes in Different Colors” by Rameshng licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic license.

Leave a Reply

